Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Seven UIL Honorary Fellows 2017




Seven distinguished personalities have been conferred Honorary Fellowships by the UNESCO Institute for Lifelong Learning (UIL) in recognition of their extraordinary contribution to international lifelong learning. All seven have, over long careers, made a substantial impact in relation to UIL’s mandate in research, capacity building, networking and publication in lifelong learning, with a focus on adult and continuing educationliteracy and non-formal basic education. The fellowships were conferred at an award ceremony at UIL on 16 May 2017.

UIL congratulates the 2017 fellows: Professor Ms Catherine Odora Hoppers, South Africa; Dean Ms Veronica McKay, South Africa; Director Mr Le Huy Lam, Viet Nam; Director Mr S.Y Shah, India; Professor Mr Ekkehard Nuissl, Germany; Professor Ms Katarina Popović, Serbia; Director-General Ms Sylvia Schmelkes, Mexico.
They join the seven UIL Honorary Fellows who received the distinction in 2016. We look forward to their continued contribution in supporting and shaping UIL’s work in the years to come.

The award ceremony took place during a two-day consultative meeting at the UIL in Hamburg this week to guide preparations for the Mid-Term Review (MTR) of the sixth International Conference on Adult Education (CONFINTEA VI).
The MTR will bring key players from the adult learning and education community together in the city of Suwon in the Republic of Korea in October 2017. The conference will take stock of achievements and challenges since 2009 and set directions towards CONFINTEA VII, which is planned for 2021.

For further information, go to:
Belém Framework for Action

Source: ​

Related Posts